2017 MONTH-BY-MONTH CHALLENGE: JANUARY

JANUARY: MINDFULNESS

I decided to start out January with the devotion of Mindfulness. I chose this as a starting block because I want to start out 2017 with a more positive attitude and awareness of self and surroundings. I want to better connect to my mind and body so I can be more successful throughout the rest of the year. This starts with an awareness of where you are at currently and where you need to improve.

To honor my devotion of Mindfulness, I have committed to practice yoga every day for the month of January. I am on Day 3 of the Yoga with Adriene 30 Day Yoga Challenge with a colleague from work. If you haven’t checked out this Vlog, I highly encourage you to. There are new videos weekly and a few different month-long challenges (new one just started on the first!). The best part is that they are free and you can practice them in the comfort of your own home. These videos are for people of all levels. I have practiced yoga in the past, but am far from advanced. My accountability partner is a complete novice- and that’s ok!

Already, I notice I am more cognizant of the tension in my neck and back that builds up every day. I am more aware of the mental stress I have and the importance of taking just a few minutes a day to remove myself from the daily grind. I have found where my physical weaknesses are (helllllo balance poses…) and where my mental weaknesses are when I find my mind wandering to my to-do list or talking myself out of a certain pose. I am hopeful that this journey will help me better manage the stress of daily life in a healthy and positive manner and help me learn to live in the moment (and improve my back pain in the process!). Just a few minutes a day on the mat to clear my mind and release some tension is the first step to a great 2017.

Leave a Reply

